Our Team


Forestry Tasmania Board

As a fully State-owned Government Business Enterprise, the Board of Directors is directly responsible to its shareholder Minister, the Minister for Forestry and the Treasurer, for its operations.

The Board is  responsible for the overall corporate governance of the organisation. This includes setting strategic direction, overseeing financial performance and business affairs, setting management goals and monitoring management’s performance. Download Board Charter (183kb PDF).

The Board of Directors of Forestry Tasmania includes six independent non-executive directors.Directors are appointed in accordance with the Government Business Enterprises Act 1995.


Rob de Fégely

Rob de Fégely is a founding Director of Margules Groome Consulting P/L a forest and forest industry consulting company based in Australia and New Zealand. He is Co-Chair of the Commonwealth Governments’ Forest Industry Advisory Council with Senator The Hon Anne Ruston and is also the Forestry representative on the Agricultural Industry Advisory Council Chaired by the Deputy Prime Minister the Hon Barnaby Joyce.

He is Chairman of Cape York Timber in far north Queensland and formerly a Non-Executive Director of VicForests. He is also the National President of the Institute of Foresters of Australia. A committed conservationist he is a member of Greening Australia and on their Victorian Advisory Board and is a member of the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Services’ regional advisory council for the Far South Coast.

He has worked in the Australian forest industry for 36 years and is a Registered Professional Forester with a Bachelor of Science (Forestry) degree from the Australian National University and a Master of Science (Forest Business Management) from Aberdeen University in the United Kingdom.

He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Rural Leadership Program. Having grown up on a farm in Victoria his other love is agriculture and he and his wife Sarah run a beef, prime lamb and forestry enterprise on the far south coast of New South Wales.



Christine Mucha

Board Member
Christine Mucha
  BAgSc (Hons), PhD, DipAgEc, FAICD, CompIEng

Christine has extensive executive management experience including over 14 years as CEO in the Tasmanian water industry, Hobart Water and Onstream until her resignation in 2011. Christine holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science degree, Doctor of Philosophy, Post graduate diploma in Agricultural Economics and has studied Advanced Management at Insead International School of Business Management, France. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Companion of Engineers Australia. Her expertise encompasses change management, organisational transition and growth, strategic and operational improvements and stakeholder management. Christine’s other Board and Committee appointments include Chair Wellington Park Management Trust, Director TasTAFE, independent Director Dial before you Dig Victoria/Tasmania, Director Lifeline Tasmania, member Inland Fisheries Advisory Council (Tasmania), RDA Tasmania, and Tasmanian Natural Resource Management Council.

Board Member
Suzanne Baker  BBus, BFA(Hons), DipFP, AdvDipNat, MFAD, FCPA, FAICD

Experienced Non-Executive Director, Chairperson and Committee Member with extensive board experience across a range of sectors including Financial Services (Insurance), Health Administration, State and Local Government, Primary Industries, Waste Management and Arts industries.  A qualified accountant with primary expertise in financial management, Fellow CPA Australia, Fellow Australian Institute of Company Directors with a Bachelor of Business and Masters in Fine Art and Design.

Board Member
Dr Lyndall Bull 
BForSc (Hons), PhD

Dr Lyndall Bull has extensive global experience in the forest sector, including in strategic management, innovation and product development, market analysis and research management.  Lyndall has served on a range of boards including the CRC for Forestry, and was the inaugural Chair of the South Australian Forest Industry Development Board.  Lyndall is the founder and Principal of Lynea Advisory where she provides advice to a range of clients in the primary industry sector regarding new product development, innovation, research management and sustainability.  Lyndall has a PhD (focussing on forest product development), a Bachelor of Forest Science (Hons) and a Bachelor of Science from the University of Melbourne.


Board Member
Professor Mark Hunt  
B.ASc (Hons), D.Phil, MBA, IFA

Professor Mark Hunt is currently Professor of Forestry Science at the University of Tasmania and Deputy Director of the Australian Research Council Training Centre for Forest Value. Mark has over 20 years' experience in research and research management working with state and federal governments and universities mainly in Tasmania and Queensland. His experience has primarily been based in the forestry sector, including domestic and international work in industrial and small-scale contexts. Mark holds a Bachelor of Applied Science (Hon) degree, is a Doctor of Philosophy and also holds an MBA. Mark is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a member of the Institute of Foresters of Australia.


Tony Ferrall

Board Member
Tony Ferrall
B. Commerce, FCPA, MAICD

Tony was appointed as Secretary of the Department of Treasury and Finance on 26 August 2013. Previous appointments include Deputy Secretary Budget and Finance Division, Department of Treasury and Finance and Executive Director, Finance and Administration, University of Tasmania.  As well as being a Director of Forestry Tasmania, Tony is a Director of the Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation and previously was a Director on the North West Regional Water Authority and State Fire Commission. Tony has extensive experience in the areas of public finance and public policy from a career spanning over 30 years, including ten years in the banking industry. He holds a Commerce Degree and is a Fellow of CPA Australia and a Member of AICD.



Forestry Tasmania Management Team

Chief Executive Officer

Steve Whiteley

Executive General Manager Communications and Stakeholder Engagement

James Shevlin 

Executive General Manager Corporate Services (and Secretary to the Board)

Chris Brookwell 

Executive General Manager Commercial

Jason Garrett

General Manager Forest Management

Suzette Weeding

General Manager Operations 

Nigel Foss



Forestry Tasmania - Organisational Structure